About

T

honon International School is the first international school to be established on the Eastern side of Lake Geneva, France. It is also the first school in this region of France to offer a truly bilingual programme (see Academics) from the end of Kindergarten, Grande Section/Year 1, until the end of the Primary age phase, CM2/Year 6.

TIS was created to meet a growing need in the large cosmopolitan community in Thonon-les-Bains for an international education with a true dual-language programme. It was also felt that the large and well established private schools in Geneva and Lausanne were beyond the reach of most families in Thonon-les-Bains, both geographically and financially.

The future is bilingual and a bilingual education should be accessible to everyone.

TIS is open to all members of the community and is actively non-discriminatory. This means that it is actively seeking representation in its student body from as many different countries and backgrounds as possible. TIS is a private, "laïque" school that welcomes students regardless of faith backgrounds and encourages representation.

TIS is not an association (not-for-profit) but has an ethical charter of re-investment that respects the following:

- reduce the cost of schooling with the objective of being reasonable and affordable in comparison to private schools offering bilingual education in the region

- provide salaries for teachers above that which is provided by the Education Nationale in France and guarantee an annual pay rise above inflation

- re-invest in the interests of meeting a growing demand for places, retaining teachers and improving school facilities

- make donations to local-based charities to combat homelessness and help people in need in Thonon-les-Bains

Présentation

T

IS est le premier établissement international à s'implanter en France sur la côte est du lac Léman. C'est également la première école française de la région à proposer un vrai programme bilingue (Scolarité) dès la dernière année de maternelle (Grande Section) et jusqu'à la fin de l'école primaire (CM2). TIS est une école internationale agréée de l’Académie de Grenoble.

L'école a été créée pour répondre au besoin croissant, au sein de la communauté cosmopolite de Thonon-les-Bains, d'une éducation internationale doublée d'un vrai programme bilingue. Elle procède aussi du constat que les grandes écoles internationales privées implantées depuis longtemps à Lausanne et à Genève restent au-delà des moyens de la majorité des familles thononaises, tant d'un point de vue géographique que financier.

Le futur est bilingue, et l'éducation bilingue se doit d'être accessible à tous.

L'école est ouverte à toutes et à tous, et elle est résolument non-discriminatoire. Cela implique qu'elle cherche à représenter, par le biais de ses élèves, autant de pays et de cultures que possible. TIS est une école privée laïque qui accueille les élèves sans distinction de culture religieuse, et qui promeut la diversité.

TIS possède une charte éthique qui respecte les principes suivants :

- Réduire le coût de la scolarité avec l’objectif d'être raisonnable et abordable en comparaison des autres établissements de la région qui proposent une éducation bilingue

- Offrir aux enseignants des salaires supérieurs aux grilles de salaires de la Convention Collective pour les écoles privées en France et leur garantir une augmentation annuelle supérieure à l'inflation

- Réinvestir dans l'école afin de satisfaire les besoins en termes d’effectifs d’enfants, de fidéliser les enseignants et d’entretenir les locaux

- Effectuer des donations aux associations locales pour aider les sans-abris et les gens dans le besoin de Thonon-les-Bains