Our Director

Steven Robbins BA PGCE MSc

Steven Robbins has 20 years international experience working as a teacher and Headteacher in England, Italy and Switzerland. He holds a first degree in Archaeology from Southampton University, UK, teaching degrees from Chichester University, UK and an MSc in Educational Leadership and Management from Leicester University, UK. Close to completing his Doctorate degree in Educational Leadership, his PhD thesis explores knowledge management in schools. His publication and research interests are educational leadership and ethics, decision-making and complex dilemmas, school culture and knowledge management. As a father of four children, he has first-hand experience of raising bilingual children. As founder and school Director, Steve offers an international perspective to TIS through the eyes of an experienced practitioner researcher. 

Our Teachers

Karen Deslorieux BA Education, TESOL, polyglot

Karinne Seguin, Doctor of Biochemistry, qualified teacher, bilingual and responsible for the pedagogical programme

Karen Deslorieux has worked in international schools in South East Asia for the past eight years. She graduated with honors and holds a Bachelors Degree in Elementary Education from the University of the Philippines. Along with her Bachelors Degree, she has a TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) certification. She moved to France together with her husband in March 2018 and soon after started working as an English Teacher to children ages 1-10 in Thonon Les Bains.

As a professional educator who speaks several languages, Karen's wealth of experience in dealing with families from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds has provided her with a broad understanding and knowledge of the best practices and current research in the field of bilingual education. She believes that it takes a village to raise a child and therefore advocates strong partnership with the parents and the community. Karen is a seasoned teacher who is passionate and dedicated to bringing positive contributions to the school, the children and their families.

Holding a Doctorate in Biochemistry from the University of Lyon, Karinne Sequin began her career in research before turning to teaching. She has been teaching children from Kindergarten till the end of Primary school for 17 years mostly in the Eastern region of France. Karinne is aware of cultural and linguistic diversity thanks to her own upbringing and is excited by the opportunity to work at TIS, taking on the responsibility for its academic programmes. As a passionate teacher, Karinne knows what it means to create a motivating and stimulating environment for her pupils. As a mother of four children, their personal and intellectual fulfillment is at the heart of her concerns. It is with enthusiasm that Karinne brings her professional contribution to the development of the school and the well-being of the children.

Notre Directeur

Steve Robbins BA PGCE MSc

Nos professeurs

Karen Deslorieux BA Education, TESOL, polyglotte

Karinne Seguin Doctorat en Biochimie, Professeur des écoles, bilingue, responsable du programme pédagogique

Steve Robbins possède 20 ans d’expérience internationale dans des postes d’enseignement et de direction en Angleterre, en Italie et en Suisse. Il possède une Licence d’Archéologie (Université de Southampton, Royaume-Uni) et de Sciences de l’éducation (Université de Chichester, Royaume-Uni) et un Master de Management et Leadership éducatifs (Université de Leicester, Royaume-Uni). Il achève actuellement sa thèse de Doctorat en Leadership éducatif, qui est axée sur la gestion des connaissances au sein des écoles. Ses recherches et ses publications concernent le leadership et l’éthique dans l'éducation, la prise de décision face aux dilemmes, la culture scolaire et la gestion des connaissances. Père de quatre enfants, il a une expérience personnelle du bilinguisme. Steve offre à TIS, en tant que fondateur et directeur de l’école, une perspective internationale à travers le prisme d’un chercheur et d’un homme de terrain expérimenté.

Karen Deslorieux a travaillé dans des écoles internationales en Asie du sud-est depuis huit ans. Elle a une licence en éducation élémentaire avec distinction de l'Université des Philippines. En plus de sa licence, elle détient une certification TESOL (enseignement de l'anglais comme langue étrangère). Elle a déménagé en France avec son mari en mars 2018 et peu de temps après, elle a commencé à donner des cours d’anglais pour des enfants âgés de 1 à 10 ans à Thonon Les Bains.

En tant que professionnelle de l'éducation parlant plusieurs langues, et avec une riche expérience des familles d'origines culturelles et linguistiques diverses, Karen a une compréhension et une connaissance étendues des meilleures pratiques et des recherches en cours dans le domaine de l'éducation bilingue. Elle pense qu'il faut une communauté pour élever un enfant et plaide donc pour un partenariat fort avec les parents. Karen est une enseignante expérimentée, passionnée et déterminée à apporter une contribution positive à l'école, aux enfants et à leurs familles.

Diplômée d'un Doctorat de Biochimie de l'université Lyon I, Karinne Seguin a débuté sa vie professionnelle dans la recherche, avant de se tourner vers l'enseignement. Elle a exercé pendant 17 ans en tant que Professeur des écoles, plutôt dans l'Est de la France aussi bien en Maternelle qu'en Primaire. Sensibilisée à la diversité culturelle et aux langues de part sa famille, elle a saisi l'opportunité de travailler dans une école bilingue comme enseignante, chargée de l'organisation des programmes. Passionnée, elle a à cœur de créer un environnement agréable et motivant pour ses élèves. Maman de quatre enfants, l'épanouissement personnel et intellectuel des enfants est au centre de ses préoccupations. C'est avec enthousiasme que Karinne apporte sa contribution bienveillante au développement de l'école et au bien-être des enfants.